In Uncategorized @fi

Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee consists of Dr. Joanne Loewy and Dr. Teppo Särkämö. Here you can find our Committee member introductions.

Joanne Loewy, PhD

Joanne is the director of the Louis Armstrong Center for Music and Medicine and is an Associate Clinical Professor at Albert Einstein College of Medicine.

Her work in hospitals and clinics ranges from premature birth through end of life and her clinical areas of expertise vary among many populations, including musicians (performers, music therapists, educators) and their unique ailments such as chronic fatigue, chemical dependency, performance anxiety and overuse. She oversees the Louis Armstrong Department of Music Therapy that she built at Beth Israel in 1994.

Joanne Loewy

Teppo Särkämö, PhD

Teppo is an Associate Professor of Neuropsychology at the Cognitive Brain Research Unit (Department of Psychology and Logopedics, Faculty of Medicine, University of Helsinki).

His work focuses on the neural mechanisms of music and speech perception and production (and their disorders, namely amusia and aphasia), neuroplasticity of auditory and cognitive functions, and the use of music-based interventions in various neurological illnesses (e.g., stroke, traumatic brain injury, and dementia).

Teppo Särkämö